The higher ups are idiots

A week or so ago, I think somebody at a Romney event suggested amending the Constitution to include business experience as a requirement to be President.  It will go nowhere, (and I think requiring military service would make more sense, but I’m not sure how I feel about that) but it was something that – like countless other seemingly worthless bits of information – ended up floating around in my head.  A couple of hours ago it collided with an observation I made years ago.  In all the places I’ve worked, I’ve always been at the bottom or maybe an inch up; you know, down where all the work is done.  Anyway, the observation I made was that it seems that the higher up the corporate ladder someone is, the more clueless they are.  We at the bottom would be working and some corporate schmuck would send out some new policy.  When it got to us down at the bottom, we’d take a look at it and say, “That’s fucking stupid.” About half the time we would just continuing doing what we had been doing – because it worked – and would forget about this new policy.  But if we were stuck with the new policy, we would work around it to make sure stuff got done.  Now, these may just have been my experiences, but I’d bet most of you think the people up the corporate ladder are idiots.  Getting back to the business experience Constitutional amendment, Washington is already full of out-of-touch idiots, why would we want to send more there?

Leave a Reply

