I saw a Dragon this morning

Well, I saw the light reflected from the ISS, part of which may have come from the SpaceX Dragon capsule currently berthed there.  😛

I am a big fan of SpaceX, so I knew that I had to watch the ISS fly overhead sometime while the Dragon capsule was up there.  Unfortunately, most of the ISS passes where I live are in the wee hours of the morning, and since I usually don’t get up until 10 or 11, it was unlikely I could see it.  But fortunately, while looking on Heavens-Above, I saw that there would be a pass this morning just after 3:00 AM which I could easily stay up for.  And there were two really cool aspects of this morning’s pass.  One, it would have a magnitude of -2.4, which is always cool, and two as you can see from this star map of its path from Heavens-Above:

I would see it come out of the Earth’s shadow!  It was a little foggy, but I could still see the brighter stars, and after waiting for a few minutes, I saw a nice bright point of light come into existence and slowly move eastward.  I tried to get a picture of it, but my camera sucks.  But I saw the ISS with the Dragon attached, and that was cool.

Leave a Reply

