A benefit of not having a job

Insomnia isn’t that big a deal.  There were times when I was working where I would go to bed, not because I was tired, but because I had to be at work in a few hours.  I would lay there and my mind would wander.  And when my mind wanders, I often come up with story ideas or ways to get myself out of jam I had written myself into.  I should get up and write, part of me would think.  But I need to be at work in a few hours, another part of me would counter.  So instead of doing either, I’d lay there debating with myself.  But now if I can’t sleep and I have an idea, why shouldn’t I just get up and write it?  So I’ll get up at noon instead of ten, it’s no big deal.

Leave a Reply

