Cosmos

I don’t recall how old I was when I first watched Carl Sagan’s Cosmos.  I don’t know how much of it – or the book – I understood at the time.  But it is a favored childhood memory.  So, some time ago when I found it on Hulu, it was natural for me to rewatch it.  I would watch the first three or four episodes, then something would come up and I’d forget about it until five or six months later when my thoughts circled back to it.  Wanting the full experience, I would start from the beginning again.  I would watch the first three or four episodes, then something would come up and I’d forget about it until five or six months later when my thoughts circled back to it.  I don’t know how many times I started rewatching it.  But, a couple of weeks ago I vowed to finish it, and since then I’ve tried to watch an episode a day.  Partly to free myself from the cycle, but also because the 30th anniversary of when it first aired is coming up and I wanted to relive it before then.   Well, I’m pleased to announce that I finished watching the last episode, “Who Speaks for Earth?” about 2:00 AM this morning.

Overall, it’s still a good show.  It is dated at times, and the effects aren’t up to what we’ve become accustomed to, but it is still entertaining and informative.  There are some bits that are interesting in their own right, but do seem to be a digression from the general theme.  But I guess nothing is perfect.  If you’ve never seen it, I recommend watching it.  As I said, it is on Hulu, but you do have to put up with them throwing their commercials in, sometimes in the middle of sentences.

Leave a Reply

