Did my head explode?

Four or five months ago, I was lying in bed waiting to fall asleep when I heard a loud crack, like someone cracking their knuckle, except it “felt” like it came from inside my head.  That was worrisome.  But after a few minutes where I didn’t have a headache, my vision wasn’t blurry, I could still feel and move my extremities, and blood wasn’t dripping from my ears, I just chalked it up as being freaky and forgot all about it.

Then, last night I was lost on Wikipedia, you know, you start at A go to B and end up at ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha :P.  On some page I saw a link to Exploding head syndrome.  I thought that was funny because a friend at work often talks about what he would do if he had “head splody powers,” which is where you think of someone – say Osama bin Laden – and his head explodes in whatever cave he’s hiding in.  At first I thought I would have to send him the link, but then I read the entry.

Exploding head syndrome is a condition that causes the sufferer occasionally to experience a tremendously loud noise as originating from within his or her own head, usually described as the sound of an explosion, roar, gunshot, loud voices or screams, a ringing noise, or the sound of electrical arcing (buzzing).

So, did my head explode four or five months ago?  The article continues: “The cause of the exploding head syndrome (EHS) is not known ….  It is not thought to be dangerous…” Wow.  How … reassuring.

One Response to “Did my head explode?”

  1. I’ve gotten that before. It’s freaky. I also get that thing where just as I’m about to fall asleep, I hear someone whisper my name. Creepy as all get out, but a nonscientific internet poll proves that it happens to everyone. (Or that everyone’s house is haunted.)

Leave a Reply

