Poor science

At work we have these online safety courses.  You go through a program and then take a test.  I took one today for Radiation Safety (I don’t really know why since I deal pretty much only with oils, but it was a required course.)  Given my BS in Physics, I skimmed over the introductory stuff on the makeup of atoms and the differences between Alpha, Beta, and Gamma radiation.  After going through the program, I went to take the test.   I spent almost a minute on the first question because I wanted to not answer it because it was phrased incorrectly.

“In orbit around the nucleus?” Orbit? How early 20th century. Haven’t these people ever heard of quantum numbers and orbitals? Don’t they teach quantum mechanics in school any more?

Leave a Reply

