Women

A friend of mine recently blogged about a list she had made up of things she looked for in a guy. Apparently she met someone she liked but he didn’t really fit the list and she was wondering if she was being picky. I didn’t have any constructive comments for her. For me, my “list” of things I’m looking for in women consists of “Do they actually like me?” Until they pass that one, why come up with more? But the idea of a list has stuck in my mind, and being a bit of a smartass, I’ve come up with a list of qualities a perfect woman for me would have.

1: She would not only understand why I’d like to name our son Valen, but would – at least – consider it.

2: She would appreciate my “sick” humor in getting a cat name Erwin.

3: She would not freak out when she finds out I have about a dozen pocket knifes. (Of those, I think I’ve only bought two, all the others were gifts.)

4: She would not freak out when she finds out my favorite episode of Babylon 5 is “Comes the Inquisitor,” mainly because of Mister Sebastian. “The city was drowning in decay. Chaos. Immorality. A message needed to be sent, etched in blood for all the world to see; a warning. In pursuit of my, holy cause, I … did things. Terrible things. Unspeakable things….”

5: She would join me in hunting YouTube for new Doctor Who episodes before they are taken down. And then would watch them again six months later when they are aired on the SciFi Channel just to see the hack job they do cutting time to make room for commercials.

6: Loves this scene.

7: Able to identify most of these quotes:
“Step into the abyss, and let go.”
“Yeah, but she’s our witch.”
“Goes ‘Ding’ when there’s stuff.”
“You can’t change that by getting all … bendy.”
“Anyway I picked up the dice again. Unbelievable, another two sixes.”
“You know, I used to think it was awful that life was so unfair. Then I thought, wouldn’t it be much worse if life were fair and all the terrible things that happen to us come because we actually deserve them. So now I take great comfort in the general hostility and unfairness of the universe.”
“The human body can be drained of blood in 8.6 seconds given adequate vacuuming systems.”
“There’s a banana grove there now. I like bananas. Bananas are good.”
“The death I survived. The death I’m now living through.”

Leave a Reply

