Odd urgings

I needed some work shirts so yesterday I went to a local mega store and picked up a couple. I then wandered around and ended up in their … space-filling, knickknack section. You know, the foot high plastic statues of cats, models of the Eiffel Tower, funky shaped pieces of wood that have been polished. Looking at all of it I wondered why anyone would buy such crap. But then, I had a strange urge to buy something. I don’t know why. But it seemed almost like I should buy something. It was like I’m at the point in my life now where I need to fill my apartment up with stuff. Financially I’m okay, and it looks as though my job will be secure for the foreseeable future, but I also want to save as money as I can so I can’t really go wasting it. I have to fight the urge to buy other things – office supplies, plants, tools – but I can sorta understand those things. But crap? Have I been trained to be a good little consumer? I don’t think I’ll be going shopping any time soon.

Leave a Reply

