The Duty Code

A couple weeks ago, I saw something on TV about the Bible Code. If you don’t know, some people claim that if you take all the words in the Bible and take out the punctuation and spacing, and set the letters up in a matrix, you can find messages. Skeptics have said that if you take any sufficiently large source of words, you can find whatever you want. Well, I have written a novella titled “Duty” which I have submitted to various magazines, but with no luck yet. Anyway, I took “Duty,” stripped out all the non-letters, and set up a 13X13 matrix. Why 13? Why not? I did this to prove that the whole Bible code is bunk. But is it?

If you look at the first paragraph of “Duty,” “As the sun rose over the ocean’s edge, Roj Hasol washed ashore in a dark blue, serge suit, a thin, navy blue tie and black wing tips. His body remembered to cough out the seawater and breathe. His body had to do this on its own for his mind was not functioning,” and arrange it in a letter-only, 13X13 matrix, you get this:


asthesunroseo
vertheoceanse
dgerojhasolwa
shedashoreina
darkblueserge
suitathinnavy
bluetieandbla
ckwingtipshis
bodyremembere
dtocoughoutth
eseawaterandb
reathehisbody
hadtodothison

Just a bunch of junk you say? Well, in about half-an-hour I found within this mass of letters the following words either going up and down or at a slant: huh, her, cat, hag, sat (twice), son, say, inset, a bat or tab a, row, oar, rut, hit, peg, soy, sot, bar, Dow and Tet. What all that means … well, I don’t know. I’m still working on that part. But, even stranger, if you connect the bottom with the top, you also get the 80’s rock band Ratt. How weird is that?

But, it gets weirder. Now, I called this a matrix, so is it surprising that in the first four lines I found Neo – three times!


asthesunroseo
vertheoceanse
dgerojhasolwa
shedashoreina

The one Neo is on a slant, and I’ve put it in bold. The other two Neos are in blue. These are if you start at the ‘n’ and count back two letters. All this means is that I picked the wrong matrix size. If I have picked a 2Xthe whole thing matrix, then these Neos would just run up the side. But, it gets even weirder. Starting at the ‘n’ in the slant Neo and counting ahead four letters (I just picked the wrong matrix size again) you get Nero and the ‘o’ is the ‘o’ in one of the backwards by two letters Neos. So apparently, there is some connection between Nero and Neo! I have yet to figure that one out.

Now, you may be skeptical, like I was. But if you look closer at the first matrix, two very important words stand out. Here they are in bold and red.


asthesunroseo
vertheoceanse
dgerojhasolwa
shedashoreina
darkblueserge
suitathinnavy
bluetieandbla
ckwingtipshis
bodyremembere
dtocoughoutth
eseawaterandb
reathehisbody
hadtodothison

The Duty Code is “real” and you should “heed” what it says. What does it say? Well, I haven’t worked that out yet. This is just the very beginning of “Duty,” I still have thousands of letters to arrange and words to look for. The Bible Code people have computers to do that, I’m just doing this by eye … on my computer. But once I do get it all worked out, I’ll write a book about it and make millions. 😀

Leave a Reply

