Vertical farming

I saw an article today in Science News about Vertical Farming. Basically, the idea is to build multi-story greenhouses in cities. This would provide jobs and fresh food year round to urban centers. It would also cut down on pollution from transporting the food to the cities and is generally a good idea. My interest in this isn’t because I care about some city-slickers, but because another benefit of trying this on Earth is that we will need the practice before we do it on the Moon or Mars. Also, the novel I’m slowly working on now and some of my shorter stories involve people living underground – either on a nuclear ravished Earth or an inhospitable alien planet – and one of the issues I’ve tried to work out is how they grow their food. If these vertical farms can get off the ground, then those elements in my stories would be more believable to the masses.

Leave a Reply

